Lanard I-Girls

I picked up a weird doll at the thrift store recently, and bought her because she was surprisingly articulated and so unusual.  At first glance, she looks like a cross between an old Barbie and a Liv doll; she has a very Barbie-esque face and arms, but has a jointed torso and the same kind of knees as Liv dolls.

i-girl copy

i-girl 003The body on this doll isn’t bad; it’s not the best sculpting job, especially at some of the joints, but she’s pretty realistic overall with a mostly healthy-looking, athletic body type.   The doll’s hands and feet are slightly awkward-looking, but are still more realistically sculpted than many fashion dolls.  She has kinda cheap-looking face screening that I’m eager to repaint; I’m really hoping the toothy grin will look better with a tidier paint job.  She has long blond hair with pink and blue streaks; the hair is quite plasticky feeling, but it looks nice and smooth with no frizzy ends, despite the doll being second-hand.

Fortunately, my thrift store doll was still dressed in her original trousers and there was a tag in them – it said “i-Girl!”, and the company name Lanard.  From what little I could suss out online, it seems that i-Girl was a line of “action figures” produced in the early 2000’s.  Apparently they weren’t very popular, despite coming with tons of accessories, because it’s hard to find photos and info online about these dolls; I still haven’t seen any photos of the exact doll that I have.  This page does have a bunch of photos of an I-girl doll right out of the package, including some good pics that show the articulation.

The boxes proclaimed “travel, friends and cool adventures!” as the i-Girl creed, and “I-Girls are what girls are all about today. We’re just like you with hopes and dreams, best friends.”  The dolls’ names – Asia, Rio, Sahara, Sydney, Aspen and Paris – were associated with the characters’ origins, and their accessories were similarly themed. My doll is probably the Paris character:

I kinda wish I’d been collecting dolls back when these were new, ’cause damn they came with a lot of nifty little accessories.  My thrift store doll came to me with only a blond dog that’s the same mold as the one in the above photo.

I’m not sure how many different lines there were in the i-Girl collection.  It looks like there were the “signature” dolls like the one above, and I’ve also seen photos of a camping play set, plus there are promo photos of a line of I-Girl Rock Stars, but I don’t know if those ever actually got made.  My doll doesn’t seem to be from any of those lines though, so there had to have been several different versions of each character.

I like that they were marketed as action figures rather than dolls, because feminism, plus “action” actually does seem like a good word to describe this toy line.  The accessories, and there were a ton, that came with the dolls showed that they were all really active characters – snowboarding, art, nature photography, camping… Aspen aspires to be an avalanche rescuer, of all things. It’s not just fashion design and shopping and boys and pink glitter like La Dee Da, Pinkie Cooper, Novi Stars, Bratzillaz, and even Monster High to some degree.

I-Girls also seem to have had nicely realistic clothes for the most part and some kind of attempt at well-rounded personalities, and weren’t sexualized at all which is incredibly refreshing to see (and it’s one of the things I always appreciated about Liv dolls, for example).  It’s also nice that the i-Girl line attempted to be multicultural, even if they did dabble in stereotypes.

=================

My i-Girl doll is going to be bait for customizing.  I’m planning to do a little work on her joints to improve the articulation, and will probably swap out her head for another that I like better, or maybe I’ll see how she looks with different paint.  It’s cool to see her origins though, and I’m happy to have her even more now that I know more about the line.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D7ana
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 20:50:11

    Thanks for sharing this post about the I-Girls. I have Paris, Asia, Rio, and Sahara. Missed getting Aspen and Sydney. I bought them from a doll boutique, Small Blue Planet many years ago. Your doll does look like the Paris doll from that group; I think that she belongs to another wave of that doll though. Your doll has bangs and a slightly darker blond than the one I have. “My” doll has her hair brushed away from her forehead and wavy hair. Platinum colored hair. That’s good news to me, because I think it means that there may have been another wave of these dolls.

    The other wave of I-Girls I recall hearing about were “Hotties.” Kid you not 😉

    I like this series, too.

    Reply

    • D7ana
      Mar 08, 2014 @ 08:23:51

      The I-Girls I came across online via a toy store called “Small Blue Planet” were the basic I-Girls and the deluxe set with a a vehicle or structure. I had the basic set for Asia, Paris, and Rio. I had the deluxe set with Sahara; Sahara came with a tent and camping accessories rather than the vehicle the other dolls had in their deluxe set.

      Update: there is a Pinterest board devoted to Lanard Dolls. They have Aspen (strawberry blond) and Sydney (blond) dolls I did not get. Enjoy!

      Reply

  2. Andrea/DollsAhoy
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 11:49:11

    …and the thing is, iGirls were actually a knock off of an earlier line of action figure/dolls called Get Real Girls–the iGirls did have a zillion nice accessories, but the detail on the (fewer) accessories and gear the Get Real Girls had was *amazing*…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,602 other followers

