Doll Review: Ghoul Spirit Frankie Stein

PicMonkey CollageGhoul Spirit is a slim-box line of four dolls dressed to cheer their school team for a pep rally. The dolls in the line are Venus McFlytrap, Sloman “Slo Mo” Mortavitch, Frankie Stein, and Spectra Vondergeist.  Seeing photos of the dolls in the NYCC display case, I was left with the distinct impression that it was almost a throwaway line, with very little creativity and somewhat poor design.  I gotta say, seeing the dolls in person has really changed my mind; I’m kind of a fan of this line after all.

The box art for Frankie is quite cute, and surprisingly not the same on the front and back.  She looks adorably high school-y, which is nice since some of the recent MH box art has the characters looking more adult and almost sexualized, and while I’m sex-positive and like sexy things I find it inappropriate and squick-worthy when it’s applied to high school-age characters that are being marketed to children. So seeing this refreshingly wholesome box art for Frankie is great; too bad her outfit doesn’t live up to that, but I’ll get into that aspect a little later..

The back of the box also has an image from the associated webisode, as well as a piece of notebook paper that says:

What:  Monster High Pep Rally!

When: Noon

Where:  Gym

Why:  Come show your Ghoul Spirit and yell your brains out for our Monster High teams!

IMG_0289

There’s Frankie attached to the simple but cute backcard, posed with her foam finger in the air.  Go team, woo!  XD  You know, I just realized that I don’t know if the MH school has a  mascot or team names.. is that ever mentioned?

IMG_0292

This Frankie is so much prettier and more monstery than I was expecting!  From the photos I saw online, I kinda hated her and thought it looked like she had pink eye or something, but in person the pink eyeshadow is surprisingly lovely and with the lighter-than-usual pink lip color, she looks really soft and pretty.  The skin tone on this Frankie is subtly different than other versions of her – it’s almost translucent-looking and more of a sickly, almost greyish green than usual, which I actually really like because it makes her look more like the reanimated corpse she’s meant to be.  Also, I don’t know if it’s the hairstyle or if my Frankie’s eyes are printed a little bit low on her face, but she looks to me like she has more of a big Frankenstein’s monster forehead.  She’s definitely the most monstery Frankie so far; I love it.  ^^

Another thing that’s different about this Frankie doll is that she has blue in her hair!  MH seems to be doing this a lot lately, adding pops of color to the hair of dolls that haven’t had that treatment in the past – and it’s awesome!  I’m particularly thrilled with this one because I have blue hair myself and always love to see (and acquire..) dolls with a similar color.

hairCollageThe blue in GS Frankie’s hair is a pretty cornflower blue; it does not match the more turquoise color that is in the outfit (which one of Frankie’s signature colors).  I think I like that the blues do not match here, even though I usually coo over perfect color matches – in this case it would just be too much of one color.

IMG_0303

All the Ghoul Spirit dolls seem to have two-piece outfits; Frankie’s looks a lot like it would be one piece masquerading as two, and I kind of expected that since these are budget dolls, but the skirt is in fact separate.  It is freaking short though!

IMG_0318 Have you no modesty, Frankie?  Your hoohah is hanging out!

IMG_0312

All the dolls in this line have a personalized Monster High design on their shirts; Frankie’s has the MH logo surrounded by a jagged line of Frankenstein stitches.  I like that it kinda looks like she spliced a school shirt onto her own outfit.  The plaid pattern in her outfit is also cute – I didn’t notice it immediately, but there are little Frankenstein stitches in the lines of the plaid.

Frankie is also wearing skullette-shaped bracelets in turquoise and black:

IMG_0311

She also has cute little lightning bolt earrings. They are very small – nicely scaled to the size of the doll, unlike most doll earrings.

IMG_0307

Frankie’s shoes are recolors of her Dawn of the Dance shoes – heel-less pumps in turquoise and black, with the colors switched on the left and right:

IMG_0299

And to complete the school spirit theme, Frankie also comes with a “foam” finger with pointed pink fingernails, that says “#1” and has the MH logo on it.  It is the exact same design as the (actual) foam finger that came with Fearleading/Ghoul Spirit Ghoulia, though this one is plastic and one-sided, with a loop of sorts on the back for the doll’s hand to go through.

IMG_0300

Go team!

IMG_0331a

Oops, accidental panty shot…with a skirt this short though, it’s hard to avoid..

Aside from the appalling shortness of her skirt, I couldn’t really be happier with Ghoul Spirit Frankie, especially since I initially disliked the look of the doll.  Being in a budget line, her outfit is simple, but it’s pretty cute and doesn’t have a cheap vibe like a lot of budget lines tend to do.  I appreciate that the clothes are separates, and the accessories are attractive and versatile; her face is also cute, with soft makeup, and I love how monstery she is with the corpsely pallor and large-ish forehead.

If you can still find her on sale for $6 like I did, Ghoul Spirit Frankie is a must-have, in my not so humble opinion.

{Also, check out the latest episode of the Monster High podcast Ghoul Talk for an audio review of the Ghoul Spirit Frankie doll, by yours truly!}

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nymphaea
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 11:40:04

    Oh, the shoes are great, and that glove is adorable. I want to thank you for the tip on the website for collectors too 🙂

    Reply

  2. batsap
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 09:19:27

    Wow, I didn’t realise I wanted her until I read your post! She’s adorable. 🙂

    Reply

  3. lala
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 16:10:03

    i have the frankie doll i made a mistake and took the plastic band out of her hair!=(

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Doll Review: Swim Class Frankie Stein | Doll Nerd
  5. Trackback: Doll Review: Slo Mo | Doll Nerd

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,602 other followers

